Inspiration Board

Although I am loving being engaged and planning has been super fun…I’m not going to lie to you, it has also been super hard. If you can’t tell, I am the kind of person who can research things to death before making a decision. And there are a LOT of decisions that have be made in a wedding!

One of the hardest decisions has been the wedding colors and general style. Rustic, elegant, fun, romantic, celebratory, crafty, personal and friends & family oriented, kicka$$….so many different concepts and I want them all to apply to my wedding! (That last concept idea was Mr.A’s, btw) How do I possibly narrow things down to create a cohesive theme?

This is the part of the post where I wish I could tell you some hidden trick to determining your wedding theme. But, if there is a hidden trick- I haven’t found it. Mr.A and I took at least five separate “What does your wedding look like?” quizzes, I have 10 wedding magazines sitting besides me right now on my desk and I stalked numerous wedding blogs for months to get ideas. The one thing that finally helped me narrow it all down was collecting images of weddings I liked and then beginning to create a mosaic of what MY wedding could look like, using some of those images.

SO! Without further introduction, I give you Our Wedding Inspiration Board!

Our Wedding! Sources from top, left to bottom, right: weddingbee, Zappos, The Dessy Group, weddingbee, Allegro Photography, Bluefly, Whiskerworks’ Shop, Bridella, a backyard wedding, projectwedding, St. Francis Church in Superior WI, flickr, Quantum Music, weddingbee, Spirit Mountain in Duluth MN, Pure Light Photography

I expect that as the wedding date approaches, we will end up straying from this theme in many cases. I am *so* flexible when it comes to how my our (opps! did I just do that again?) wedding should look (although Mr.A told a friend at dinner this past week that I am terribly picky about the wedding! ME!). Having this Inspiration Board made is simply a way for me to focus a bit and not get so overwhelmed; it is NOT a concrete roadmap for how things must look.

After all, I will admit that this Inspiration Board has already been through four iterations itself- hey, a girl can change her mind! Speaking of this Board’s creation, I used Mosaic Maker to put all the photos together and it was SUPER easy (Thanks goes to Mrs. Lemon from weddingbee for the tip!). Can you believe it…as I am looking at my Inspiration Board right now I am already seeing things I can add to it!

Did you have trouble nailing down the theme for your wedding?

About annlili

ecofreak. wino. explorer. small feet.
This entry was posted in inspiration, planning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Inspiration Board

  1. Kelly Kauth says:

    I LOVE your wedding blog:) I randomly came across your site as I was searching for information on Greysolon Ballroom. I have booked them for my wedding reception in 2012- and was looking for reviews (since I am not from the Duluth area). Cute inspiration board- I am also doing shades of purple for my colors! I can’t wait to read what else you have posted πŸ™‚

    • annlili says:

      Awww…thanks! πŸ™‚ I’m really excited to share information about the Twin Ports since there really isn’t a lot out there (and it’s an awesome place). When are you getting married? Do you live in the Duluth area now, or is this a destination event for you?

  2. Kelly says:

    So true- it has been difficult to find wedding related information on the area! This is a destination event for me- I live in the St Paul metro area. I’m not all that familiar with Duluth, but I imagine I will be up there a few times this summer to meet with vendors and such. I’m getting married July 14th, 2012- so I have some time to plan!

  3. Pingback: Dressing the maids… | Joyfull Wedding

Leave a Reply

