And the winner is…

Some days I just do NOT feel like a winner. Take, for instance, today. I recently sent in an application for a work opportunity, and today found out it was rejected boo. And I started to think (and cyber-stalk) people who are in my field, same age group and WAY more successful to me. Before you know it, I was bummed about all kinds of stuff- that I haven’t been to Africa yet, can’t cook worth a darn and still haven’t finished knitting the baby blanket I started (for a friend, not me!).

Yeah I know. These are MINOR problems. But sometimes those minor things have a way of snowballing and we easily lose perspective. Today was one of those times.

And then I had a quick im chat with my fiance and he cheered me right up. (if it isn’t obvious, I am “mmmm…coffee” in this conversation)

mmmm…coffee: 😦
mmmm…coffee: i feel like a loser sometimes
mmmm…coffee: <sigh>
mmmm…coffee: <le sigh>
Mr.A: sometimes you feel like a winner?
mmmm…coffee: sometimes
mmmm…coffee: 😛
mmmm…coffee: not always!
Mr.A: keep a picture of me in your wallet
mmmm…coffee: why?
Mr.A: that should make you feel like a winner

Now, you could interpret this as Mr.A being all “I am SUCH a catch”…OR you could interpret it as Mr.A saying “I love you and no matter what, you have me! So you ARE a winner”. And it’s the truth! One thing I need to constantly remind myself in life (and particularly with wedding planning) is to put things in perspective. No matter what, I have my family, friends & health. What more do I need?

all you need is love! da da daa daa da da...

 

During the craziness of wedding planning (and life!) what helps you keep perspective?

About annlili

ecofreak. wino. explorer. small feet.
This entry was posted in personal, planning and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

