Changing my last name…

Talk about opening with a controversial statement! For some reason, the debate on “to change or not to change” your last name after marriage often opens up to a heated discussion. Since this is a very subjective topic, I can only give you my personal opinion on it. Take it for what it is- just a viewpoint from a short Midwestern gal (who’s been made much more non-traditional by her friends πŸ™‚ )

I believe everyone has the option to decide what they want to do with their last names once they join in marriage. I am good friends with couples who have:
– Kept their own, distinct last names (Mainly because their individual last names where AWESOME and/or they had each made a “name” for themselves under their own names.)
– Had both partners take the wife’s last name (In part because her last name was AWESOME.)
– Created a new last name for the family (Which is really super cool)
– Hyphenated names
– Take the husband’s last name
etc. etc. etc.

So, when it comes down to it- the list is really endless in possibilities. And although people who go a more “nontraditional” route with last names may hear some grief, I believe that those of us who go traditional also hear just as much. What I am trying to say is, rather than doing what you think you ought or making your decision so you can make a statement about feminism or tradition, my advice is to do what feels right and gets you the last name you want to live with for the rest of your life.

And what am I doing? Well, as I alluded to above, I am going traditional, baby. My plan was always to take my husband’s last name; why? Just a feeling I had that I wanted to have a family together and have our unity signified in our last name. That, and my last name is super common and I was always eager to get something more exotic. πŸ™‚

Unfortunately, (And here is where I do what no blogger is supposed to do- tell you my last name!! AND, my new last name!) I am going to be transitioning from an “Anderson” to an “Andersen” after my wedding.

That’s right, you read that correctly. I’m only changing one letter in my name. Hilarious, right? Very.

Our friends frequently call us "The Andersoens", which I love.

I will admit that I briefly entertained the idea of keeping my last name; solely for the fact that if I did, we could get a address stamp that said: “Andersen & Anderson”, and then our address below. Wouldn’t that be cute?! But, I still really want to change my name.

What do you think: if I changed my name, could we still use the “Andersen & Anderson” label?
What are you doing with your last name after the wedding?

About annlili

ecofreak. wino. explorer. small feet.
This entry was posted in personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Changing my last name…

  1. Kelly says:

    This is hilarious! I am also taking my hubby’s name- which will be Bravo. 2 reason’s really- 1. I’m traditional when it comes to family names, and 2. I just think Bravo is AWESOME πŸ™‚

  2. Lyndsay says:

    That is hilarious, and oddly enough- my fiance’s last name is also Andersen! He ALWAYS has to correct people on the spelling.
    We’ve decided to each take each other’s last name, and add it to our existing middle names. So we’ll both still have our own original last name, but will have the joined unity in our middle names instead πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

